Nice - Pierre Matisse, un marchand d’art à New York

Pierre Matisse, un marchand d’art à New York
du 11 June au 30 September -

PIERRE MATISSE
An art dealer in New York

MATISSE MUSEUM

From to

By devoting a major exhibition to Pierre Matisse, the Matisse Museum looks back at the exceptional career of Henri Matisse's youngest son, an art dealer in New York and a key figure in the world of modern art.

For nearly sixty years, the Pierre Matisse Gallery played a considerable role in the defense of French and European modern art in the United States, during a period that shaped the great Private and Institutional American collections. Through more than three hundred exhibitions, a whole generation of European artists has been able to exist on the New York scene and contribute to its dynamism.

Pierre Matisse worked to build notoriety and to enhance the American careers of the great figures of the gallery such as Henri Matisse, Joan Miró, Alexander Calder, Balthus, Alberto Giacometti, Jean Dubuffet and Marc Chagall, to name but a few of the main ones. His action was more aimed at defending singularities than at supporting currents, whether they bear the name of Fauvism, Cubism or Surrealism, or the School of Paris. Without claiming to be exhaustive, the exhibition Pierre Matisse, an art dealer in New York retraces this odyssey through nearly seventy works by twenty-three essential artists of the gallery.

As Balthus says, "he saw things as the son of a painter." The course gives an important place to the catalogs of the gallery which show the genius of Pierre Matisse for these publications, sometimes modest but always inventive. He also reveals the meticulousness and audacity shown by Pierre Matisse for the hangings, as evidenced by the numerous photographs in his exhibitions.

These two strong axes of the course are found in the catalog nourished by a rich iconographic documentation around the publications of the gallery and the installations. The catalogue edited by Bernard Chauveau brings together essays by Serena Bucalo-Mussely, Catherine Dossin, Fabrice Flahutez, Jack Flam, Claudine Grammont, Marianne Jakobi and Johanne Lindskog.

The exhibition benefited from major loans from the Pierre and Tana Matisse Foundation (New York), the Ezra and David Nahmad collection as well as private collections. From the "Pierre Matisse" donation to the French State, of which the National Museum of Modern Art was the beneficiary, are presented 15 masterpieces that the Parisian institution has generously lent to the museum, paving the way for the signing of a multi-year partnership between the City of Nice and the Pompidou Centre.

CALL THE MATISSE MUSEUM DIRECTLY!

Pierre Matisse, un marchand d’art à New York
Musée MATISSE - 164 avenue des Arènes de Cimiez - Nice
du 11 June au 30 September -
2021-06-11T00:00:00 Call now
Click to see the number

Tarif: Événement payant







Nice City Life - Logo
© 2017- | La Clinique du Web
All Rights Reserved
Analyse de trafic
Home | General terms of use | Contact the team | My establishment is not listed | Login Espace

Nice - Pierre Matisse, un marchand d’art à New York

Pierre Matisse, un marchand d’art à New York
du 11 Juin au 30 Septembre -

PIERRE MATISSE,
Un marchand d’art à New York

MUSÉE MATISSE

Du au

En consacrant une grande exposition à Pierre Matisse, le Musée Matisse revient sur le parcours exceptionnel du plus jeune fils d’Henri Matisse, marchand d’art à New York et figure incontournable du monde de l’art moderne.

Pendant près de soixante années, la Pierre Matisse Gallery a joué un rôle considérable pour la défense de l’art moderne français et européen aux États-Unis, durant une période qui a façonné les grandes collections américaines privées et institutionnelles. À travers plus de trois cents expositions, c’est toute une génération d’artistes européens qui a ainsi pu exister sur la scène new-yorkaise et contribuer à son dynamisme.

Pierre Matisse s’est employé à construire des notoriétés et à valoriser les carrières américaines des grandes figures de la galerie que furent Henri Matisse, Joan Miró, Alexander Calder, Balthus, Alberto Giacometti, Jean Dubuffet et Marc Chagall, pour ne citer que les principaux. Son action visait plus à défendre des singularités qu’à soutenir des courants, qu’ils portent le nom de fauvisme, de cubisme ou de surréalisme, ou encore d’École de Paris. Sans prétendre à l’exhaustivité, l’exposition Pierre Matisse, un marchand d’art à New York retrace cette odyssée à travers près de soixante-dix œuvres de vingt-trois artistes essentiels de la galerie.

Comme le dit Balthus, « il voyait les choses comme le fils d’un peintre ». Le parcours accorde une place importante aux catalogues de la galerie qui font preuve du génie de Pierre Matisse pour ces publications, parfois modestes mais toujours inventives. Il dévoile aussi la minutie et l’audace dont faisait preuve Pierre Matisse pour les accrochages, comme en témoignent les nombreuses photographies de ses expositions.

Ces deux axes forts du parcours se retrouvent dans le catalogue nourri d’une riche documentation iconographique autour des publications de la galerie et des installations. Le catalogue édité par Bernard Chauveau réunit des essais de Serena Bucalo-Mussely, Catherine Dossin, Fabrice Flahutez, Jack Flam, Claudine Grammont, Marianne Jakobi et Johanne Lindskog.

L’exposition a bénéficié de prêts majeurs de la Pierre and Tana Matisse Foundation (New York), de la collection Ezra et David Nahmad ainsi que de collections particulières. De la dation « Pierre Matisse » à l’État français dont le Musée national d’art moderne fut le bénéficiaire, sont présentés 15 chefs-d’œuvre que l’institution parisienne a généreusement prêtés au musée, ouvrant la voie à la signature d’un partenariat pluriannuel entre la Ville de Nice et le Centre Pompidou.

APPELEZ DIRECTEMENT LE MUSÉE MATISSE !

Pierre Matisse, un marchand d’art à New York
Musée MATISSE - 164 avenue des Arènes de Cimiez - Nice
du 11 Juin au 30 Septembre -
2021-06-11T00:00:00 Appeler maintenant
Cliquez pour afficher le numéro

Tarif: Événement payant







Nice City Life - Logo
© 2017- | La Clinique du Web
All Rights Reserved
Analyse de trafic
Accueil | Conditions Générales | Contactez l'équipe | Mon établissement n'est pas référencé | Se connecter Espace